Rant page aka blog...

How I learned to stop worrying and hate the Mac

Websites are not the only things that need downsizing

I'm sorry Dave...Algorithms leave workers in the dark

HAL’s cold, if polite, refusal to open the pod bay doors in 2001: A Space Odyssey has become a defining warning about putting too much trust in artificial intelligence, as per this article -particularly if you work in space.

What did you do Daddy in the War Against Web Bloat?

It's blogging Jim...but not as we know it

There's never a better service than one that's not available yet...

Yes I know...

Yes I know this page is a mess. Yes I know the CSS is all over the place. It's a long time since I've handcoded straight onto an html text doc. Yes it should be like riding a bike but it's really not; it's really like one of those use-it-or-lose-it type deals...Yesterday for instance I spent longer than I care to admit trying to work out why an image wouldn't display before finally discovering it was the wrong kind of quotes. Instead of " I had copied some code which used ” (look closely) and Neocities didn't like it.

It's not Elementary my dear Watson

LXLE works out of the box? Not quite...

LXLE installed OK on my old 2009 MacBookPro and runs OK but the screen brightness, keyboard backlightand volume keys do not work - except curiously the mute button works. Also NordVPN was interminably difficult to install which was odd because I've installed it plenty of times on Ubuntu-based systems. There are supposed to be fixes for this but I might go back and see if I can get Manjaro Mate working on this thing.

There's never a better service than one that's not available yet...

Social media explained

If you want to get ahead get a milkman!

Privacy? What privacy? Who cares about privacy?

Talking to the police and... other wastes of time

No Time To Die? Live and let Bond die

Tweet if you must but Tweet not all you think

Feel tempted to give advice? DON'T

Paperless office? Pah! I have a paperless kitchen!

Crisis? What crisis?

If you want to get ahead... get an antique!

Never relax...around apps

What are your favourite wastes of time?

How much effort is too much effort?

Once more unto the blog but a paper or digital life? >

Twitter, what Twitter?!

Paying for a new 'smarttech' dumbphone is dumb

Secrets, what secrets? Just imagine the uproar!

Free coffee? What free coffee?!

Recommended products

return to main page