Twitchy glitchy Twitter

The latest Twitter debacle this last week (1st week July 2023) with reports started coming appearing how alt Twitter links were not working.

There were a number of issues apparently but I noticed that Nitter was not working when people sent me Twitter links. I don't have Twitter account so when someone sends me a Twitter it is converted to a Nitter link via UntrackMe app.

These were the immediate apparent issues:

This seemed to be fulfilling a prophecy made a couple of weeks previously in an 11th June Engadget article 'More platform instability could be in Twitter’s near future'

'Platform instability has been a hallmark of Twitter 2.0. In February, many of the platform’s core features went down on more than one occasion. More recently, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis had trouble announcing his bid for the Republican presidential nomination after Twitter Spaces could not handle the influx of people who wanted to listen to the broadcast. If Twitter is in fact planning to stiff Google, it wouldn’t be the first time the company has ghosted on a contract. At the end of last year, California Property Trust, the owner of the building that houses Twitter headquarters, sued the company for failing to pay rent.'

Update: 13th August 2023...After seeming to be 'fixed' for a while it has now reverted to when people send me Twitter/X links no it briefly display the content before clunkily wiping and displaying a login page. I can't be bothered with these shenanigans anymore where nitter or bibliogram sometimes works then stops. Twitter X/Instagram is not that important. I just explain I cant see those pages and to send me screenshots.

Back to blogroll

Main page