smartsizing

Biodegradable plates

Today my new crockery arrived.

Many downsizers/minimalists talk about the paperless office.I have gone one further and installed a paperless kitchen. The old paper plates I used were not rigid enough. These plates are made of sugarcane waste, what the makers call 'Bagesse cockery' (yes, you read that correctly) 100% biological and compostable. I already have bowls made of the same material and they are more than sturdy enough. I first went for a minimal crockery which is what I usually recommend. Pack all crockery away apart from the bare minimum. Pack it with paper in cardboard boxes. Leave yourself a cup a plate, knife, fork and spoon. maybe double up on the cups if you have regular guests. For occasional guests crack open the stored cardboard box.

The cutlery drawer is full of disposable wooden knives, fork and spoons. I have a couple of 'real' spoons left and a steak knife.

There are several reasons I moved to a disposable system:-

One way to Smartsize your kitchen:-
  1. Get rid of 90% of crockery and cutlery.
  2. Replace these with disposable/recyclable items.
  3. Clean little and often using wetwipes, sometimes bicarbonate of soda spray and microfibres.
  4. Use hooks to hang kitchen utensils such as cheese graters and tin openers

return to blog roll

recommended products

main page