Smartsizing

People sending links to proprietary websites, particularly TwitterX, Facebook, Instagram links is a pain in the @rse:

  1. I don't have a Facebook, Instagram, or TwitterX
  2. Clicking on a link often leads to a login page. (See 1)
  3. Also I'm greeted with a cookie popup
  4. Videos often don't work, needing 3rd party sites/apps to watch/download vids
  5. I then have to go delete cookies, clean my browser
  6. You have made me do work to view a link that you sent

You have wasted my time- causing me to do considerably more to view the link than you did to send it. The polite ('netiquette' seems to have fallen out of usage, sadly) thing to do is either send a link using a 3rd party or something that works. If it's a TwitterX link from the BBC or Telegraph etc then just send the BBC or Telegraph link directly NOT the TwitterX link. Again, I am having to do work... You may live on Twitter all day. I don't.

I sometimes get the 'I know you don't have Facebook but...' -

Here is what to do: Use archive.is or similar to archive the link then send the archive link.

It's less irritating, less "ugh!" when the recipient gets a link from you. it punishes these sites for being intrusive data miners by depriving them of views the engagement they crave. The person you sent it to can then easily pass on what you have sent them.

return to blog

recommended products

main page