Rant blog

If you annoy them...they will leave

I've already ditched the music streaming Spotify. It didn't work well enough for a paid service - I guess they had other priorities than making it work well for their paying customers. For me the glitchiness was irritating and that Spotify kept pushing music 'agendas', podcasts and topics I had no interest in. For example I never used Spotify to listen to podcasts or books yet Spotify decided to constantly shill Michelle Obama's memoirs. Despite my not being American, never listening to any political podcasts on the platform and certainly no American-related politics, this was pushed 'in my face' via the app every day as well as being preached to on other topics. So,it seemed Spotify has a political agenda that was more important than not annoying its users.

There are other very good reasons apart from Spotify being irritating. I was paying a subscription of £10 or so for the best part of three years. £360. When I left Spotify I was left with nothing to show for my £360. I didn't own a single piece of music , a single MP3. I had no access to any of the tracks in any meaningful way. Having got used to it, once the paid option was not there the free service with ads and only random play was no better than using a playlist from YouTube

return to main blog

main page